Celebrate the Author

Celebrate the Author

Posted on: September 19, 2008

This is the NEW home of the Celebrate the Author reading challenge. This is the second year of the challenge, and I am pleased to be hosting it once again. I hope you will join me in 2009 as we read and celebrate authors in their birth month!

More about the challenge:

It is a twelve month challenge. January – December 2009.

The challenge is designed to “celebrate” author birthdays. Choose one author for each month of the year. Read at least one book a month. 12 authors. 12 birthdays. If you like, you can read MORE than that. If you’re really obsessive, you might want to “celebrate” all 52 weeks of the year. (But even I am not THAT zealous!) The challenge is designed to ‘celebrate’ the special bond–the connection–that occurs between the author AND the reader as well as the connection between readers. It is very easy to “bond” with other readers over certain works, certain authors, etc. To find out author birthdays, visit these helpful sites:

Author birthdays by date (pdf), author birthdays by name (pdf), kidsreads.com, teenreads.com, author birthday directory, etc.

Or conduct google searches of your own. (Hint: typing the authors name, a “+” and the word ‘birthday’, tends to work if you assume that wikipedia gets such things right.)

You can choose picture books, poetry books, early readers, chapter books, fiction for middle grades, fiction for teens, adult reads, nonfiction, whatever you want. You could choose 12 picture books. You can read books in or out of your comfort zone.

You might want to make a list and choose alternatives for each month…that way you can narrow it down as you go. And you do NOT have to choose a book until the very moment you’re ready to start reading. Just pick a handful of authors.

And here’s the secret. If you change your mind, just be sure to change your list to reflect that change. I don’t care how many times you change your list.

Why make a list at all? Good question. It’s not that I want you to stick to your list. I don’t care if you change it. I don’t need to see it in advance. But I mention lists because I think–and this could be me–that it is easier to visit those sites and jot down a few authors per month to give you ideas then it is to wait until the last minute and try to figure out which birthday is when and what counts etc. But if you want to be completely spontaneous then that’s fine with me!!

This year the round ups will be here on this wordpress site. You’ll be leaving links to your reviews. If you write reviews that is. Or you’ll be leaving comments to say what you read.

To sign up for this challenge, please leave a comment. Thank you!

34 Responses to "Celebrate the Author"

Count me in for this one. I missed it last year.

I’m just about finished the books for 2008, and I’ll be back next year!

Please count me in! I missed it this year, but would love to join in on the fun next year.

I’d like to do this next year; I missed it this year.

Sounds like fun

I’d like to do this one, but with children’s picture books. I’ll be reading them to my son, and I thought this would be a nice way to remind me to share many of my childhood favorites. Here’s the link where I’ll (eventually) post my list:

http://texasbookwoman.blogspot.com/2008/10/celebrate-author-2009.html

Count me in too ;0)

I would love to do this next year. πŸ™‚

Count me in πŸ˜‰

Please count me in. The authors I’d like to read for each month are:
A. A. Milne
Judy Blume
Andrew Lang or Lois Lowry
Beverly Cleary
Gary Paulsen
Cynthia Rylant
J. K. Rowling
Gene Stratton Porter
Phyllis Whitney
Ursula LeGuin
C. S. Lewis
Avi
I’ll post which books as I get going after Jan. 1 Thanks this looks fun.

Count me in too please.

I would like to join please

I loved this last year, count me in again.

I’m in! Sounds fun.

I’m in! Let me just a few days to come up with a list of authors to read.

This has been my favorite challenge this year, so count me in for ’09, as well~! Thanks for hosting it, Becky, I do so luv to read everybody’s selections.

Missed this challenge! Count me in for 2009.

I’m going to try this challenge next year. I didn’t do it this year, but I liked seeing the books that other people chose.

I’ll make a post at some point with some potential authors and to keep track of what I’ve read, but I like being able to change around as the whim hits.

thanks for hosting Becky

I’m in!
Thanks for hosting

I so want to do this challenge again this year! My list can be found here:

http://bookinhand.blogspot.com/2008/12/celebrate-author-challenge-2.html

Thanks, Becky, for hosting it again!

I’m In! Sounds like a lot of fun!

Hello,

I would like to sign up for this challenge this year – my list of books/authors will be here: http://booksandneedlepoint.blogspot.com/2008/12/celebrate-author-challenge.html

Thanks!
Kristi

This sounds fun. I want to sign up for this challenge. Thanks!

Thank you for hosting a great challenge. I had so much fun coming up with my list. Here is the link:

http://bookpsmith.blogspot.com/2008/12/another-challenge-that-i-couldnt-pass.html

Oh BTW, I would love to join:)

I enjoyed this challenge last year, so I’m doing it again in 2009:

http://krinek.blogspot.com/2008/12/celebrate-author-2009-challenge.html

I would like to try this challenge in 2009.

Here is a link to my possible list of authors. http://amysnote.blogspot.com/2008/12/celebrate-author-reading-challenge.html

This sounds like so much fun! Here’s the link to my post but I haven’t picked any authors yet. I need a quiet weekend to go through and wallow first:)

http://marybeth494.blogspot.com/2008/12/2009-reading-challenges_29.html

Count me in! I finally got a post up, and found an author in my TBR pile to start on for January.

Leave a Reply

